[Book Review] And the Mountains Echoed

sumber : www.bloomsbury.com
sumber : http://www.bloomsbury.com

Title : And the Mountains Echoed
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Year : 2014
Pages : 466 pages

‘A story of love, separation, friendship, compassion, exile, memory and the troubled history of Afghanistan, spanning three continents and sixty years… Hosseini is a master storyteller’ The Times

Ten-year-old Abdullah would do anything for his younger sister. In a life of poverty and struggle, with no mother to care for them, Pari is the only person who brings Abdullah happiness. For her, he will trade his only pair of shoes to give her a feather for her trasured collection. When their father sets off with Pari across the desert to Kabul in search of work, Abdullah is determined not to be separated from her. Neither brother or sister know what this fateful journey will bring them.

It was Khaled Hosseini’s third book but the second book I read of his. Long before, I had read The Kite Runner and as there was in it, there will be nostalgia for old Afghanistan too. We could completely feel the happiness or misery caused by painful memory or troubled history like separation and tragedy within an unbreakable bonds of love.

Reading this novel was like rearranged the puzzle of life because at first, you wouldn’t have any idea who was this and that and what kind of things connected them. Khaled Hosseini seems like to keep the surprise/secret by slowly write down a little clue in every part. For people who indolent to remember the name and years, it would be a bit tiresome. Something that ruins my thoughts due to the story was just.. I think he put few unnecessary characters in it or is it just me? I probably think too much about the following exams.

Here, I bring you few wise words.

A real father would gave died defending his family. (page 7)

They weren’t her children. Most people loved their own. They were another woman’s leftovers. (page 25)

Everyone came out to see him because he drove a car, though it belonged to his employer, and because he wore a suit and worked in the big city. (page 30)

But in public, every stranger’s eye was a mirror. There was no to escape. (page 72)

No matter where you hop onboard, you are born to reach your destination sooner or later. (page 84)

For he treated me well, and speaking of him behind his back seemed to me like a betrayal. (page 89)

Its the hands-the ugly, twisted hands-that fail her most, hands that on bad days feel like they have shards of crystal rattling around the joints. pari wears gloves mostly because she is ashamed of them. (page 265)

And i know that i am always off travelling and going to meeting and that a lot of people have demands on my time. But no one on this earth matter to me more than you. You are my son. I would give up my life for you. (page 282)

There wasnt a toy on earth that could make up for his fathers absence. (page 283)

She was a teacher. As we walked, Mama never held my hand. The other mothers did with their own kids, but not Mama. She said she had to treat me like any other student. (page 324)

She believed it was always best to tell the truth, to tell it plainly, without fanfare, and the more disagreeble the truth, the sooner you had to tell it. (page 324)

Human behaviour is messy and unpredictable and unconcerned with convenient symmetries. (page 378)

Entering my childhood home is a little disorienting, like reading the end of a novel that I’d started, then abandoned, long ago. (page 384)

If culture was a house, then language was the key to the front door, to all the rooms inside. (page 417)

I should have been more kind. That is something a person will never regret. (page 440)

Here we go. I reckon… I am going to look over A Thousand Splendid Suns in the bookstore tomorrow or maybe going straight to my friend who lent me this book. Who knows she has that book. I tend to think if I open her wardobe, her books will bump right on me like tsunami. She has a lot books here. What a vivid belonging! With no hestitation, I suggest you to read this book. Enjoy!

Tinggalkan Balasan

